

PARTICIPATORY GOVERNANCE **TASK FORCE** 2024-2026

Voting Members Chairs: Joanna Oxendine, Dean **Tatiana Vasquez, Faculty**

Classified Professionals (3): Ernie Guillen Marie Maghuyop Vinnie Wu

Faculty (3): Erica Begg **Anthony Blacksher** Jeremiah Gilbert

Students (1): **Dyami Ruiz-Martinez**

Administration (3): **Ray Carlos** Dan Mayo Sergio Zazueta

Note-taker/Resource member: Shyla Cobbett, Admin Assist.

Charge

The SBVC Participatory Governance Task Force is charged with reviewing and refining San Bernardino Valley College's governance processes to improve decision-making processes in support of enhancing student success, improving the student experience, and ensuring equitable access and outcomes through an effective, inclusive governance system. Over the course of the next year, the task force will: 1. Review and refine SBVC's current committee structure to increase efficiencies and effectiveness in accordance with AB 1725, ACCJC standards, CA Education Code, Title 5 regulations, and relevant district policies: 2. Engage representatives from all campus constituencies to create a transparent recommendation- and decision-making process; 3. Develop a Participatory Governance Handbook outlining governance philosophies, committee structures, and decision-making processes. 4. Present final recommendations to College Council, Academic Senate, and Classified Senate for support and adoption. Agenda - 16 MAY 2025 I. Welcome & a. 2 May'25 Minutes | Action [ATTACHMENT 1] II. Updates|Feedback-seeking|Next Steps a. Update on Academic Senate, T. Vásquez b. Update on Classified Senate, V. Wu & E. Guillén c. Update of College Council, J. Oxendine, T. Vásquez III. PG Task Force Discussion a. PGTF Annual Report ('24-'25) - Our Accomplishments! [ATTACHMENT 2] b. Parked items | Loose ends discussion [ATTACHMENT 3] c. PG Website Update c. Next Academic Year '25-'26 Fall Meeting dates & times [ATTACHMENT 3] Timeline & Activities [Teams] Membership

IV. Floor items?

MEMBERS ATTENDANCE:

Co-Chairs:

- □ Joanna Oxendine (management), RP&IE Division
- □ Tatiana Vasquez (faculty), Sci Division

Classified (3 representatives - appointed by Classified Senate):

□ Vinnie Wu, RP&IE Division

□ Ernie Guillen, Student Services

□ Marie Maghuyop, Student Life

Faculty (3 representatives - appointed by Academic Senate):

□ Erica Begg, Student Services

□ Anthony Blacksher, SSHD&KH Division

□ Jeremiah Gilbert, MB&CT Division

Student (1 representative - selected by Associated Students):

Management (3 representatives):

□ Ray Carlos, Dean of Student Engagement and Wellness

□ Sergio Zazueta, Director, Facilities, Maintenance, & Operations

□ Dan Mayo, Director, STEM/MESA