

PARTICIPATORY GOVERNANCE **TASK FORCE** 2024-2026

Voting Members Chairs: Joanna Oxendine, Dean Tatiana Vasquez, Faculty

Classified **Ernie Gui** Marie Ma Vinnie W

Faculty (3 Erica Beg Anthony Jeremiah

Students Dyami Ru

Administ **Ray Carlo** Dan Mayo Sergio Za

Note-taker/Resource member: Shyla Cobbett, Admin Assist.

IV. Future Agenda Items | Seeking feedback

IV. Last Full Task Force Meeting - Friday, May 16th at 2-4pm [End of Semester]

Information only: Academic Senate, May 7th (final) Classified Senate, May 14th (final) College Council, May 14th (final)

MEMBERS ATTENDANCE:

Co-Chairs:

□ Joanna Oxendine (management), RP&IE Division

The SBVC Participatory Governance Task Force is charged with reviewing and refining San Bernardino Valley College's governance processes to improve decision-making processes in support of enhancing student success, improving the student experience, and ensuring equitable access and outcomes through an effective, inclusive governance system.

Over the course of the next year, the task force will:

Review and refine SBVC's current committee structure to increase efficiencies and effectiveness in 1. accordance with AB 1725, ACCJC standards, CA Education Code, Title 5 regulations, and relevant district policies:

Engage representatives from all campus constituencies to create a transparent recommendation-2. and decision-making process;

Develop a Participatory Governance Handbook outlining governance philosophies, committee 3. structures, and decision-making processes.

Present final recommendations to College Council, Academic Senate, and Classified Senate for 4. support and adoption.

Agenda - 2 MAY 2025

Drofossionals (2)	I. Welcome &		
Professionals (3): llen	а.	18 April'25 Minutes Action [ATTACHMENT 1]	
ighuyop			
u	II. <u>Upd</u>	II. <u>Updates Feedback-seeking Next Steps</u>	
		a. Update on Academic Senate, T. Vasquez	
8):	b. Update on Classified Senate, V. Wu & E. Guillen		
g		c. Update of College Council, E. Guillen, J. Oxendine, J. Gilbert	
Blacksher			
Gilbert	III. PG Task Force Discussion		
(1):	a.	Committee structure of '25-'26	
iz-Martinez	b.	PGTF Annual Report ('24-'25) for submission to CC AS CS	
	с.	Parked items Loose ends discussion	
ration (3):	d.	Next Academic Year '25-'26	
S			
D			
zueta	III. Floor items?		

Charge

□ Tatiana Vasquez (faculty), Sci Division

Classified (3 representatives - appointed by Classified Senate):

□ Vinnie Wu, RP&IE Division

□ Ernie Guillen, Student Services

🗆 Marie Maghuyop, Student Life

Faculty (3 representatives - appointed by Academic Senate):

🗆 Erica Begg, Student Services

□ Anthony Blacksher, SSHD&KH Division

□ Jeremiah Gilbert, MB&CT Division

Student (1 representative - selected by Associated Students):

Management (3 representatives):

□ Ray Carlos, Dean of Student Engagement and Wellness

□ Sergio Zazueta, Director, Facilities, Maintenance, & Operations

□ Dan Mayo, Director, STEM/MESA