

Participatory Governance Task Force Charge

The SBVC Participatory Governance Task Force is charged with reviewing and refining San Bernardino Valley College's governance processes to improve decision-making processes in support of enhancing student success, improving the student experience, and ensuring equitable access and outcomes through an effective, inclusive governance system. Over the course of the next year, the task force will:

- 1. Review and refine SBVC's current committee structure to increase efficiencies and effectiveness in accordance with AB 1725, ACCJC standards, CA Education Code, Title 5 regulations, and relevant district policies;
- 2. Engage representatives from all campus constituencies to create a transparent recommendation- and decision-making process;
- 3. Develop a Participatory Governance Handbook outlining governance philosophies, committee structures, and decision-making processes.
- 4. Present final recommendations to College Council, Academic Senate, and Classified Senate for support and adoption.

Participatory Governance Task Force Agenda - 21 February 2025

- I. Welcome & 7 Feb'25 Minutes | Action [ATTACHMENT 1]
- II. <u>Updates, Feedback-seeking, & Next Steps</u> NA
- III. PG Task Force Discussion
 - a. Workgroup 1 Results Attachment #2
 - b. Workgroup 2 Results Attachment #3
 - c. Floor items?
- *IV.* Future Agenda Items | Seeking feedback
 - a. March meetings & governance constituents' meetings visits
 - b. Other?
- V. Next Full Task Force Meeting
 - a. March 7th at 2-4pm
 - b. No March 21st Spring break

Information only: Academic Senate, February 19th & Mar 5th Classified Senate, February 21st & March 21st? College Council, February 26th & March 12th

MEMBERS ATTENDANCE:

Co-Chairs:

□ Joanna Oxendine (management), RP&IE Division

🗆 Tatiana Vasquez (faculty), Sci Division

Classified (3 representatives - appointed by Classified Senate):

□ Vinnie Wu, RP&IE Division

 \Box Ernie Guillen, Student Services

🗆 Marie Maghuyop, Student Life

Faculty (3 representatives - appointed by Academic Senate):

 \Box Erica Begg, Student Services

□ Anthony Blacksher, SSHD&KH Division

□ Jeremiah Gilbert, MB&CT Division

Student (1 representative - selected by Associated Students):

□ Dyami Ruiz-Martinez

Management (3 representatives):

 \square Ray Carlos, Dean of Student Engagement and Wellness

□ Sergio Zazueta, Director, Facilities, Maintenance, & Operations

□ Dan Mayo, Director, STEM/MESA