

#### **Participatory Governance Task Force Charge**

The SBVC Participatory Governance Task Force is charged with reviewing and refining San Bernardino Valley College's governance processes to improve decision-making processes in support of enhancing student success, improving the student experience, and ensuring equitable access and outcomes through an effective, inclusive governance system. Over the course of the next year, the task force will:

- 1. Review and refine SBVC's current committee structure to increase efficiencies and effectiveness in accordance with AB 1725, ACCJC standards, CA Education Code, Title 5 regulations, and relevant district policies;
- 2. Engage representatives from all campus constituencies to create a transparent recommendation- and decision-making process;
- 3. Develop a Participatory Governance Handbook outlining governance philosophies, committee structures, and decision-making processes.
- 4. Present final recommendations to College Council, Academic Senate, and Classified Senate for support and adoption.

## **Participatory Governance Task Force Agenda**

#### 22 November 2024

- I. Welcome & 8 Nov '24 Minutes [approval by consensus]
- II. Workgroups Updates & Feedback-seeking
  - a. Workgroup 1: CC Models-Policies-Practices Research
  - b. Workgroup 2: Internal Governance Analyses
  - c. Timeline Check-in
- III. PG Task Force Discussion
  - a. Website creation and maintenance increasing visibility in our Task Force efforts and progress
  - b. Floor items
- IV. (Optional) Workgroup Activities\Discussions
- V. Future Agenda Items | Seeking feedback

# VI. Next Full Task Force Meeting

a. TBD

### MEMBERS ATTENDANCE:

Co-Chairs:  ☐ Joanna Oxendine (management), RP&IE Division ☐ Tatiana Vasquez (faculty), Sci Division
Classified (3 representatives - appointed by Classified Senate):
☐ Vinnie Wu, RP&IE Division
☐ Ernie Guillen, Student Services
☐ Marie Maghuyop, Student Life
Faculty (3 representatives - appointed by Academic Senate):
☐ Erica Begg, Student Services
☐ Anthony Blacksher, SSHD&KH Division
☐ Jeremiah Gilbert, MB&CT Division
Student (1 representative - selected by Associated Students): $\Box$ Vacant
Management (3 representatives):
☐ Ray Carlos, Dean of Student Engagement and Wellness
☐ Sergio Zazueta, Director, Facilities, Maintenance, & Operations
☐ Dan Mayo, Director, STEM/MESA