

PARTICIPATORY GOVERNANCE TASK FORCE 2024-2026

VOTING MEMBERS

Chairs:

Joanna Oxendine, Dean Tatiana Vasquez, Faculty

Members:

Classified Professionals (3)

Ernie Guillen Marie Maghuyop Vinnie Wu

Faculty (3)

Erica Begg

Anthony Blacksher Jeremiah Gilbert

Students (1)
Dyami Ruiz-Martinez

Administration (3)

Ray Carlos Dan Mayo Sergio Zazueta

Note-taker/Resource member: Shyla Cobbett

TASK FORCE RECOMMENDATIONS

April 26, 2025

BACKGROUND

These recommendations mark the conclusion (third and final phase) of the SBVC Participatory Governance Task Force's efforts for the Spring 2025 semester.

RECOMMENDATIONS:

RECOMMENDATION 1: It is recommended to deactivate the Student Policies and Scholastic Standards Committee and direct the Vice President of Student Services to delegate tasks not within the committee's original charge to the appropriate administrative units. The Vice President shall also collaborate with faculty to implement a structured review process and formally establish an appropriate panel for the evaluation of academic petitions.

RATIONALE:

The Student Policies and Scholastic Standards Committee is operating outside its stated charge, engaging primarily in administrative tasks related to student petitions (e.g., academic exceptions, course petitions). Evaluation of this committee included a comparison to practices at other colleges, where such administrative functions are managed by designated panels rather than standing committees.

RECOMMENDATION 2: It is recommended that Administration prioritize the intentional structuring of division meetings to ensure they provide dedicated time and meaningful opportunities for academic and classified constituencies to engage in governance-related dialogue, exchange critical information, and participate actively in institutional decision-making processes. To uphold transparency, accountability, and effective shared governance, these meetings must also be scheduled at consistent and meaningful intervals and maintained as a standing practice in all future academic years.



PARTICIPATORY GOVERNANCE TASK FORCE 2024-2026

VOTING MEMBERS

Chairs:

Joanna Oxendine, Dean Tatiana Vasquez, Faculty

Members:

Classified Professionals (3)

Ernie Guillen Marie Maghuyop Vinnie Wu

Faculty (3)
Erica Begg
Anthony Blacksher
Jeremiah Gilbert

Students (1)
Dyami Ruiz-Martinez

Administration (3)

Ray Carlos Dan Mayo Sergio Zazueta

Note-taker/Resource member: Shyla Cobbett

TASK FORCE RECOMMENDATIONS

April 4, 2025

RATIONALE:

Regular, structured division meetings are a critical element of effective institutional governance, as required by Title 5 regulations and accreditation standards, both of which emphasize meaningful participation by all constituent groups. Purposefully structuring and maintaining division meetings that sustain active constituency engagement and reinforce collaborative processes is vital to the college's mission, continuous improvement, and accreditation compliance.

CONSULTATION

These recommendations were informed by consultation with the President's Cabinet, internal campus research, external studies on governance, and guidance from the CCCO, Title 5, the Education Code, and ACCIC Standards.

Respectfully submitted,

Tatiana Vasquez and Joanna Oxendine, Chairs

On Behalf of the Participatory Governance Task Force

Attachments: None